Occasionally and in rare circumstances, you might encounter a large number of duplicates. This might happen, most likely, after importing a large number of records.
If that happens, you may not want to review each likely duplicate record and instead, just remove them in mass. The system allows you to do this but only if your number of likely duplicates is large (over 500). When your likely duplicates meets that threshold, the menu option to remove duplicates automatically becomes active.
By selecting this option, you are activating automatic handling of all likely duplicates, based on the next step of selecting a sensitivity:
After you have made the above two selections, click proceed. You will receive a notice that this action will automatically remove all duplicates that match the above filter and this action cannot be undone.
To have all the matching duplicates removed, click okay. The duplicate-removal engine will run and will remove your records. You will be notified by email when that process completes.
Because you will be removing records in mass and because this cannot be undone, it is recommended to proceed with caution and to review many of the records before making this decision. You can easily review the records by selecting 'Review likely duplicates' in the top section. From there, you can scroll through various pages before making the final decision to automatically remove in mass.
For more complete information on de-duping records, see Managing Duplicate Records